2016-12-29 / Community News

Biddeford official named chairman of the House of Representatives

Speaker of the House Sara Gideon (D-Freeport) released the lists of appointments made to the various Joint Standing and Select Committees and the Standing Committees of the House. Rep. Ryan Fecteau (D-Biddeford) was not only re-appointed to the Labor, Commerce, Research, and Economic Development committee, but also named its House chairman.

“It is honor to be appointed chairperson of the Labor, Commerce, Research, and Economic Development Committee,” Fecteau said. “I am grateful for the confidence my colleagues have entrusted in me to protect working families and advance healthy economic development for our state.”

Fecteau replaces outgoing chairman Rep. Erin Herbig (D-Belfast) who became Democratic Majority Leader at the beginning of the month. He joins Senate chairman Sen. Amy Volk (R-Scarborough). Volk’s husband Derek Volk is President of Volk Packaging located in Biddeford.

“I look forward to working with Sen. Volk,” Fecteau said. “We will not see eye-to-eye on all policy proposals before the committee, but I have positive relationships with my Republican colleagues on the Labor, Commerce, Research, and Economic Development Committee. Together, we will find ways to do good on behalf of Mainers.”

James Fischer (D-Presque Isle) was 27 years old in 2007 when appointed House chairman of the Appropriations and Financial Affairs Committee. It is not clear whether Fecteau, 24, is the youngest committee chairperson in state history; however, it is very likely.

Fecteau, House chairman of the Legislature’s Labor, Research, Commerce and Economic Development Committee, is serving his second term in the Maine House and represents part of Biddeford.

Return to top